Registration for the 49th Annual Meeting of the American Aging Association is now open.  Please use the annual meeting button above to register and see full details of the program, accomodations, venue etc.

The members of the American Aging Association are an elite group of scientific experts in the field of biogerontology and geroscience, dedicated to understanding the basic mechanisms of aging in order to enable humankind to preserve and restore functions typically lost to age-related degeneration, and to extend the healthy human lifespan. Become a member here.

The American Aging Association is committed to providing a harmonious conference environment based on mutual respect, dignity and support. All forms of harassment, including sexual, are completely unacceptable. These behaviors have no place in the American Aging Association, and do not represent who we are. It is our collective priority to prevent this abhorrent behavior and to support those affected. We ensure allegations of sexual harassment are responded to swiftly, appropriately, and confidentially. Full policy

The American Aging Association recognizes a crucial, compelling need to promote diversity in the aging research workforce. The American Aging Association is committed to fostering a diverse workforce in aging research, and to ensuring that people from all backgrounds can fully and productively participate in our field. We have outlined and are executing specific plans to help diversify the aging research workforce, designed to develop and prepare the most talented researchers from all groups, to help improve the quality of the educational and training environment, and to enhance the participation of individuals currently underrepresented in the field of aging research. Full policy

Careers in Aging - Visit or post on our Job Board!

AGE is pleased to announce the 2020 Denham Harman Research Award winner is Rochelle Buffenstein, PhD, Senior Principal Investigator at Calico.  Her lecture will be on Friday, June 19th at 12:30pm

New AGE Fellows to be inducted for 2020:

Greg Brewer, PhD, Veronica Galvan, PhD, Peter Hornsby, PhD, Kylie Kavanaugh, PhD, Bernard Rabin, PhD


Please note the GCRLE submission deadline will be extended collectively for all applicants to 11:59pm EST on February 18, 2020.  Please reference the GCRLE Buck webpage for updated documents, including the attached updated RFA.  

The Global Consortium for Reproductive Longevity and Equality (GCRLE) based at the Buck Institute is actively soliciting 2-year grant applications aimed toward identifying unifying principles that underlie female reproductive aging.  The awards are open to researchers based at both national and international accredited academic and nonprofit research institutions. We would greatly appreciate it if you would share this announcement with your network. 

Note that the February 3, 2020 deadline is fast approaching.  Given successful application of all scientific components, required administrative documents such as the institutional approval form or postdoc letter of recommendation will be considered for extension on a case-by-case basis. Please contact us should you have any questions.

 The RFA attached is currently open until February 3, 2020.  The application portal can be accessed here.

Specific Funding Mechanisms

  • The call for Senior Scholar Awards will provide $800,000 over 2 years to support established investigators who are thought leaders in their respective fields and are recognized for substantial contributions of creative and productive research to pursue substantive, innovative research in female reproductive aging.
  • The call for Junior Scholar Awards will provide $500,000 over 2 years to support early career investigators with outstanding promise when they are establishing their own labs. These awards are to encourage young scientists to pursue bold ideas in female reproductive aging when they are at their most scientifically creative. Early career investigators are defined as principal investigators who have been in an independent faculty role for less than six years at the time of application, i.e. starting after February 3, 2014. Independence is typically demonstrated by a full-time faculty appointment, allocated space, a start-up package, and institutional commitment as defined or verified in a letter from a department chair or equivalent.
  • The call for Postdoctoral Fellowship Awards will provide $200,000 over 2 years to support exceptional young scientists at the beginning of their postdoctoral training in the area of female reproductive aging, broadly defined. Our goal is to provide support and training to promising postdoctoral scholars and to encourage the next generation of researchers to pursue creative projects in this exciting nascent field. Applicants must be within 3 years of the date of the award of their PhD or 4 years of their M.D. on February 3, 2020.
  • The call for Pilot Awards will provide $200,000 over 2 years to foster innovative collaborative or novel research projects in female reproductive aging that have the potential for high impact and high reward at an accelerated rate. These awards will allow collection of preliminary data to apply for larger grants and we encourage applications to fund novel collaborative cross-discipline projects, with an emphasis on projects that establish novel collaborations.

AGE representation at FASEB

Mark McCormick, Science Research Conferences Advisory Committee

George Sutphin, Publications and Communications Committee

Sreemathi Logan, Excellence in Science Award Committee

Holly Brown-Borg, Board of Directors

Kevin Perrott, Science Policy Committee

Catherine Hornsby, EOAC

AGE, a member of FASEB since 2016

AGE is pleased to announce the AFAR Grantees for 2019 

Impact Factor 6.44

Table of Contents Updates

Submit now


Special Issue: Where Neuroscience Meets Geroscience: Mechanisms at the Interface between Aging and Neurodegeneration and Special Issue: Neuropeptides and Peptide Hormones in Aging

GeroScience Volume 41 Number 6

AGE would like to thank Duncan Palmatier for helping obtain the trademark GeroScience.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software